Fantasy Baseball, Weekly Recaps

Fantasy Baseball Week 21 Recap – More Bad Luck

Editor’s Note: Meant to publish this a week ago but it didn’t for some reason. My bad. 

I promise you I’m not actually trying to tank my season at this point. My team is just this bad.

Team Moneyball The Isotopes
BA 0.232 0.337
HR 5 12
RBI 31 25
R 24 35
SB 0 1
K 40 42
W 3 5
S 2 2
ERA 4.16 1.97
WHIP 1.28 1.17

The week I drop Matt Moore, whose walks had returned and who wasn’t getting more wins thanks to the Giants being terrible since the All-Star break, he just barely misses a no-hitter. Suffice it to say, he’s been picked up again.

I also suffered a rash of injuries and sits this week, and I still can’t trust my pitching staff. Matt Shoemaker was solid but isn’t missing bats. Dylan Bundy was good against the Nationals but bad against the Yankees? Michael Fulmer threw an underwhelming 5 innings and got the loss. Joe Musgrove struggled for his second straight start. Anthony DeSclafani was the stud, as he threw a 4 hit, complete game shut out against Arizona.

Brad Miller went from being Rad Miller back to being Bad Miller, notching only two hits and 3 RBIs on the week. Hunter Pence was even worse, who is struggling with another hamstring injury; he only got two hits on 11 at bats and nothing more in just a handful of games. Max Kepler has done nothing much for the last two weeks, and yet he leads all AL rookies in RBIs, which should say something about the crop of rookie players this year. And my stolen bases dried up this week! Come on Dee Gordon!

When I lose to every team in the league again this week, the fourth time this season, something has seriously gone wrong. I’ll do a full season diagnosis in a couple of weeks to look at everything that went right (not much) to everything that went wrong (a fuck ton). But a few quick observations:

I’ve been moaning about pitching all season, citing that as the reason why I’m losing the bulk of my matchups. And it’s true, I haven’t posted a sub-3.00 ERA since Week 10 and haven’t won the category since Week 11. Not only that, I’ve only posted a sub-4.00 ERA three times in the last 10 weeks since last winning the category. In WHIP, it’s been just as long since I won the category and have only posted a sub-1.00 WHIP all season. But while I rank the lowest among the league in Wins, which I can’t seem to buy no matter how good my pitchers are, my real focus maybe should’ve been batting.

I’m dead last in HRs, Runs and RBIs, the latter two of which I won handily last season. The fact of the matter is, home runs are up across the board in fantasy this season, and putting up seven to eight in a week is simply not going to cut it. A few times I’ve won the category throughout the season, but not because I outperformed but because my opponent underperformed. This week The Isotopes managed 12 home runs, four of those from my former stud Kris Bryant. And The Isotopes are only third overall on the season.

I’ve traded away a lot of players that could’ve helped my overall totals, but it’s hard not to think about next year’s draft. I’ve previously been prioritizing batting average and ERA when I look for players, but now I may need to shift to looking for power, counting stats, and strikeouts. Everything else will work themselves out, or you can find some of that production on waiver wires throughout the regular season. But if you don’t have some consistent power hitters (granted, I assumed Jose Bautista, Adrian Gonzalez, Matt Kemp and Michael Conforto would help in that regard upon leaving my draft), you’re going to be done for. If you don’t have guys who can throw a lot of strikeouts, maybe you can get lucky on a shutout game, but it’s not reliable week to week counting on ground ball guys who aren’t actually ground ball guys like Sonny Gray.

Two weeks left, only two weeks until football. I’ll keep you updated on the results of the remainder of the baseball season moving into playoffs (I mean, at least I have the Cubs to root for this season), but the bulk of these posts moving forward will be about football.

 

Leave a Reply

