My team has arrived! And all because a few of those guys I drafted actually showed up to play last week. #FreeLamarMiller #GronkYouTour2016 #WhateversGreatAboutTerrenceWest

I was the #1 and #2 point finisher in each league respectively this week, and I won both of my matchups to help boost me in the rankings. You get the sense that my team is finally starting to play as expected. Gronk went off for 7 catches, 162 yards and a touchdown and even got flagged for taunting while he was at it. Miller and Houston looked like they might’ve been having some trouble figuring out how to win, but it turns out the Colts are far better at figuring out how to lose, and allowed him to run in for two TDs and 149 yards. After that performance, Miller ranks 5th in rushing yards overall and 9th overall among running backs, despite having only scored two touchdowns in six weeks. His schedule is a lot more favorable moving forward as well, so I’m fortunate I didn’t sell high. Gronk still has some work to do to catch up to the likes of Greg Olsen and even his teammate Martellus Bennett, but the production is coming.

Wildcats Player Team Points
QB Derek Carr Oakland Raiders 11
RB1 Lamar Miller Houston Texans 31
RB2 Jordan Howard Chicago Bears 11
WR1 Kelvin Benjamin Carolina Panthers 16
WR2 Jordan Matthews Philadelphia Eagles 10
WR3 Randall Cobb Green Bay Packers 18
TE Rob Gronkowski New England Patriots 29
K Matt Bryant Atlanta Falcons 6
DST Philadelphia Eagles 16
BN Sterling Shepard New York Giants 6
BN Kirk Cousins Washington Redskins 17
BN Seattle Seahawks 10
BN Cameron Meredith Chicago Bears 22
BN Dennis Pitta Baltimore Ravens 9
BN Jamaal Charles Kansas City Chiefs 12

In that league, those two were the standouts despite having a disappointing day from Derek Carr. Even facing Kansas City, turns out Kirk Cousins would’ve been the better play against even Philly, and I’ll likely start Cousins over Carr in Week 7. Carr has a good matchup against a poor Jacksonville team, but Cousins’s opponent in Detroit is prone to be another shootout.

You want to see more from the wide receiver core, and I’m still working on finding a more stable WR1, especially with Kelvin Benjamin on a bye here in Week 7. Turns out Cameron Meredith is a PPR stud, and probably a standard league WR2 or 3 also, as he’s got nearly as many targets in just two weeks of full time play as Alshon Jeffrey. As long as Brian Hoyer is still under center for Chicago, I like him moving forward, especially this week when Green Bay’s secondary is a lot worse compared to their running defense.

He might be a more reliable start than Jordan Matthews against Minnesota. Matthews looked like a target monster after the first two weeks of the season, but he’s settled into more of a WR3 role, but he has the upside to find the endzone and get big yards after carry, seeing as with only three receptions in Week 6 he managed an impressive 75 yards.

I’m less nervous about Randall Cobb than I was a few weeks ago. Aaron Rodgers hasn’t looked right, and that’s the concern, but against their rivals in Chicago on Thursday night, and with Eddie Lacy and James Starks both missing the game, the Packers are likely to throw a lot, and both starting Cobb and Jordy Nelson should pay off nicely.

Meltdowns Player Team Points
QB Andrew Luck Indianapolis Colts 23.38
RB1 Terrance West Baltimore Ravens 24.30
RB2 Jeremy Hill Cincinatti Bengals 4.10
WR1 Jordy Nelson Green Bay Packers 4.80
WR2 Brandon Marshall New York Jets 7.00
TE Rob Gronkowski New England Patriots 22.20
FLEX Jordan Matthews Philadelphia Eagles 7.50
K Adam Vinatieri Indianapolis Colts 11.00
DST Arizona Cardinals 12.00
BN Doug Martin Tampa Bay Bucs BYE
BN Brian Hoyer Chicago Bears 12.08
BN Jerick McKinnon Minnesota Vikings BYE
BN Seattle Seahawks 8.00
BN Sterling Shepard New York Giants 2.50
BN Terrelle Pryor Sr. Cleveland Browns 19.84

Speaking of Nelson, he did very little in Week 6 and might’ve been my downfall were it not for strong performances by Gronk, West and Andrew Luck, plus a day in which my opponent The Moops only put up 62 points, hampered by a Carolina defense that gave up -1 points in the shootout with New Orleans, Mark Ingram giving all of his production to Brandin Cooks, and Antonio Brown being the recipient of a dismal day after getting blown out by the Dolphins of all teams.

I’ve added Hoyer in this league over Tyrod Taylor, who had a strong day last Sunday but who I’m not as thrilled with in the long run should Luck get injured or have a tough matchup.

I’m close to done with Jeremy Hill, who could still get into the endzone, but in a 10-team league, I wonder if it’s even worth owning him. If I dropped him, would he get picked up? If I tried trading him, does he have any value at all?

As a result, I’ll be relying on Terrelle Pryor Sr. as a far more reliable flex play, seeing as he continues to put up big counting stats no matter what position he seems to be playing.

In this week I’m operating under the assumption that Doug Martin comes back from his injury in order to play the pitiful San Francisco 49ers. If not, it still leaves me guessing as who to trust in my second running back slot. I failed to get my waiver claim on James White this week, and Jay Ajayi, who I added in the PPR league, was already owned. I wonder if I should be similarly worried about Brandon Marshall. There’s not much you can do but start him. It’s been announced that Geno Smith will be the new QB in place of Ryan Fitzpatrick in Week 7, but until it’s the third string QB playing for the Jets, only then will it be time to hit the panic button with Marshall. All of his production in Week 6 came from the first half, but thankfully I wasn’t playing from behind.

This week’s matchups are hard to gauge. I play the 3-3 Bend it Like Beckham in my NFL league, who will be rolling out Tom Brady against Pittsburgh and Devonta Freeman against San Diego. The rest of that team doesn’t quite have the same depth, but early projections have me losing. In my Yahoo league, I play the 5-1 Dream Team. His team was looking absolutely dominant the first five weeks of the season, but he just came off his worst performance to the only other undefeated team in the league, and now he doesn’t even have Ben Roethlisberger to start, and he has Zeke Elliott on a bye. We’ll see what lineup changes he makes moving into the weekend, but if there was ever a week I wanted to play him, it’s this one.

Leave a Reply

